Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Story's End
Cover of Story's End
Story's End
Storybound Series, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Enter the magical land of Story in this sequel to Storybound, perfect for fans of Inkheart, The School for Good and Evil, and classic fantasy tales like Ella Enchanted and The Neverending Story. Kids...
Enter the magical land of Story in this sequel to Storybound, perfect for fans of Inkheart, The School for Good and Evil, and classic fantasy tales like Ella Enchanted and The Neverending Story. Kids...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Enter the magical land of Story in this sequel to Storybound, perfect for fans of Inkheart, The School for Good and Evil, and classic fantasy tales like Ella Enchanted and The Neverending Story. Kids who love fairy tales, dragons, magic, and more will be enchanted by Una Fairchild's unforgettable adventure in Story's End.

    Story is a land of dashing Heroes, dastardly Villains, and epic quests--and once upon a time, a noble King. But the King vanished so long ago that even the memory of him is lost. Now a cruel Enemy plots to rewrite Story's future, and an ordinary girl named Una Fairchild may be the only one who can stop him. As Una and her friends Peter and Indy race to defeat the Enemy, their quest will take them deep into the secrets of Story's past . . . and Una's own mysterious ties to this fairy-tale kingdom and its long-forgotten King.

    Discover the richly imagined world, spirited cast of storybook characters, and timeless appeal of Story's End, which closes the book on Una's adventure "with an all-out bang" (ALA Booklist).

About the Author-

  • Marissa Burt was forever getting notes sent home from teachers about reading novels during class. She grew up in Oregon and now lives in the Seattle area with her husband and three sons. Marissa is also the author of Storybound.

Reviews-

  • DOGO Books nick483 - Wow a new book again by the land of stories I wonder what this book is about but I think it is about the finally going to end this looks really interesting I will ask to borrow form my friends see ya
  • School Library Journal

    June 1, 2013

    Gr 5-8-In Storybound (HarperCollins, 2012), 12-year-old Una Fairchild discovers a book that serves as a portal to the land of Story, which is populated by heroes, heroines, princesses in distress, knights in shining armor, wizards, fairies, dragons, and magical spells. Characters like Una who are transported into Story from the land of Readers are called the Written Ins. A foster child, Una has always wondered what happened to her parents and sadly discovers that they were characters in Story who were far from being the good guys. In this book, Una is back in the land of Story, printing broadsides that announce the discovery of the Enemy's evil plot to overtake it. She and her friends send out a call to arms, asking all the characters to join in the resistance movement so that the king of long ago can return and "happily ever after" can once again exist. In this story within a story, Una discovers the magic that runs through her veins and plays a critical role in righting past wrongs. Fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (Scholastic, 2002) will undoubtedly notice the similarities, and some might even compare the series to Carla Jablonski and D. J. MacHale's "The Travelers" books (S & S). There is enough action to interest reluctant readers.-Sabrina Carnesi, Crittenden Middle School, Newport News, VA

    Copyright 2013 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    March 1, 2013
    There's no question that "[m]essing around in the Villainous parts of Story is risky stuff," in this sequel to Burt's debut novel, Storybound (2012). Young Una Fairchild is back, desperately trying to unravel the vast entangled problems in the land of Story. The Tale of Beginnings reveals the three legendary Elements of Story's origins: the Silver Quill dipped in Dragon's Ink applied to a Scroll of Fire. When these three elements are brought together again, the End will be written, and the old Story will be complete, making way for a new Story to begin. Along with friends Peter, Indy and Snow, Una races to make sure that the Elements do not fall into the wrong hands--in her case, hands that are more related to her than she ever dreamed possible. While Burt has strong concepts and a penchant for plot, the events of the story fail to reveal much about the one-dimensional characters. As in Storybound, without the grounding of and association with clear character development, the plot sometimes devolves into a long sequence of breathless and cluttered details. Despite its flaws, this book has a magical and endearing quality that may be particularly helpful for readers who need to leave an old story behind and begin to write a new one. (Fantasy. 8-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2013) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    May 15, 2013
    Grades 4-7 This sequel to Storybound (2012) hits the ground running, as the EnemyFidelus, an evil Muse, and Duessa, the Red Enchantressplots The End of Story. If Fidelus and Duessa find the three Elements, they can use them to obliterate the old Tale and write it anew. Meanwhile, Peter, Indy, and the rest of the Resistance, including the Enemy's daughter, Una, are gathering forces to fight for Story, while the true king is rumored to have returned. Yes, there are a lot of compelling plotlines, and the book ends with an all-out bang. Readers will do best to start with Storybound; otherwise, Burt's complex world may be too fuzzy to grasp.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2013, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Story's End
Story's End
Storybound Series, Book 2
Marissa Burt
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Story's End
Story's End
Storybound Series, Book 2
Marissa Burt
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by High Tech High, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close